Real Estate

Information About the City of Slidell

    home/ city info / government



St. Tammany Parish is governed by the Police Jury, a 14-member body which enacts local ordinances for the unincorporated areas of the parish. Each juror is elected for a term of four years from one of 14 districts.

The Police Jury appoints directors to many parish departments, such as the Hospital Board, the Airport Authority, the Library Board, and the Registrar of Voters. The Fire Protection Districts, Road Districts, and the Drainage Districts are also under the jurisdiction of the Police Jury.

The St. Tammany Parish Police Jury was established as one of the 19 original local governing bodies by the Legislative Charter of 1812.

The geographic area called a parish is similar to a county except that it has true separation of authority. The sheriff, tax assessor, coroner, and clerk of court are separately elected and have independent duties.

Voters in St. Tammany Parish vote according to Wards and Precincts. Newcomers must register at least 24 days before an election. Registering and voting requires valid identification showing a person's address, and one must be 18 years old to vote. A naturalized citizen must present naturalization papers.

Slidell Chamber of Commerce

The St. Tammany Parish Registrar of Voters:
in Slidell
520 Old Spanish Trail
(985) 646-4125
in Covington
311 N. New Hampshire
(985) 898-2572